To know me is to love me

Well, maybe not love but it seems that there are people on social network sites that really love to pin a label on you based on very little information. Maybe that is not just a phenomenon of social network sites. Most of us do that in real life because we are “hot wired” to make snap decisions based on natural tendencies to be able to get out of back situations quickly. But on blogs, social network sites, etc, you should be able to take the time to read and ask questions before making a snap judgment. I find people like to comment on stores based on just a headline and an opening paragraph. Some cable news sources know this and love to use it to manipulate the bits of information they give out to fit an agenda. And people do this to each other based on a few things shared on a profile page and a few short posts on some topic somewhere.

So, I have had a back-and-forth with some people on a Facebook group called Roots of Change. Most of the people on this group think that pesticides are bad and the people who use them are evil and out to kill them. Seriously, they have said this. Needless to say, I have posted about what I do and that I think responsible pesticide use isn’t evil but now these people swear I work for Monsanto or some other chemical company and what I have to say is just worthless propaganda. They say they have looked up my bio (from where I do not know) and think they have me “pegged”. The fact that they think they know all about me, my job, my education, etc, from a few posts on a blog or Facebook page and a small bio sort of proves my point that people think they can know all that is need to know based on very little information. Makes me wonder about the validity of their statements on pesticides being bad as they obviously are just parroting information they get from the “pesticides are bad” groups.

A friend of mine sent me this quote, “We must view with profound respect the infinite capacity of the human mind to resist the introduction of useful knowledge.” Thmas R. Lounsbury, American linguist (1838-1915). Seem like this sure fits today’s society as well. Things don’t change much.

Leave a Reply

